Taxes
  • A screen shows the numbers after the closing bell at the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) in New York

    The Market Flashes a Recession Signal: Does the Economy Need New Stimulus?

    By Michael Rainey

    Investors scrambled for cover Wednesday as the bond market flashed a signal that a recession may be on the way, sending stocks sharply lower, with the Dow Jones Industrial Average falling 800 points...

  • US Taxes Lower Than in Most Developed Countries

    By Michael Rainey

    The Tax Policy Center on Monday released a chart that reminds us once again that taxes are lower in the U.S. than in most developed nations – and that was true even before the Republican tax cuts...

  • Monopoly

    Chart of the Day: Weak Effects of the Corporate Tax Cut

    By Michael Rainey

    Business investment has risen since the GOP tax cuts were signed into law by President Trump in 2017, but it’s not clear how much a contribution the tax cuts made to the relatively modest investment...

  •  U.S. President Trump hosts Medal of Honor ceremony for Atkins at the White House in Washington

    Trump’s ‘Terrible’ New Tax Cut Idea

    The Trump administration has been considering another tax cut that would primarily benefit the rich — and add about $100 billion to deficits over 10 years. The proposed change would reduce the taxes...

  • Who Isn’t Paying Income Taxes?

    By Michael Rainey

    Ten years ago, an economist at the Tax Policy Center calculated that 47% of Americans paid no federal income tax. That figure gained a degree of infamy in 2012 when presidential candidate Mitt Romney...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 10:56pm
Monday, February 5, 2018 - 10:45pm
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 10:36pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 10:42pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 10:29pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 7:28pm
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 - 5:15am
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 10:47pm
Thursday, January 25, 2018 - 10:37pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 10:53pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 10:39pm
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 - 8:37pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 11:19pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 11:13pm
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 11:01pm
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 9:00pm
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 - 11:30pm
Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 10:26pm
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 10:34pm
Monday, January 8, 2018 - 10:45pm
Monday, January 8, 2018 - 3:36pm
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 10:07pm
Thursday, December 28, 2017 - 3:15pm

Pages